DNA question

PUBLIC Forum for general discussion on the DNA Project. The DNA project includes both Highland and lowland Livingston/es as well as MacLeas and other related names. Please do NOT post private information to this Forum.
Helen&Rod

DNA question

Post by Helen&Rod »

Hi to Everyone
This is my very first time to this forum. I wonder if anyone can help me please. If my husbands results from his DNA test says R-M 269 & YDNA Haplogroup is R1b1a2 does this mean he is definitely a LIVINGSTONE Descendant ? I noticed that another Livingstone has exactly the same results. Please can someone tell me how to read these results.
Thanking you
Helen
Kyle MacLea

Re: DNA question

Post by Kyle MacLea »

Helen,

I don't recall... did he test as part of our Project? Do you have a kit number for him? If not, if you send it along to me I may be able to give you more info.

The short answer to your question, though, is no. Being R-M269 is a firm sign he is of the R1b haplogroup and one particular branch of it. Now, R-M269 men are exceptionally common within our Project (and within largely Scottish projects in general) and many Livingstone men are indeed R-M269, but that alone does not prove a connection. What do his normal Y-DNA markers (called STR markers) give for matches? Any Livingston(e)s among the surnames there? That would be the best indication of a Livingstone tie, although imperfect because we many people's male lines have never been tested (thus far).

What kind of test did he do? What lab did he use? All this will help us interpret your question better! And help you more. :)

Kyle=
Kyle S. MacLea
Clan Society Life Member; DNA Project Co-Admin
New Hampshire, USA
kyle -dot- maclea -at- gmail -dot- com
Kyle MacLea

Post by Kyle MacLea »

You can see that under R1b, R-M269 is one of the first branches. Under it are subgroups that are very common in our Project as well, in particular R-U106, R-P312, and R-L21.

http://www.geni.com/projects/R1b-M269-Y-DNA/5155

Kyle