David Livingstone and Ardnamurchan Livingstones

Public Forum for anyone interested in tracing their roots.
Forum rules
Remember that this forum is publicly accessible. Do not share private information that you wish to remain private on the Ancestral Search forum.
Cameron Livingstone

David Livingstone and Ardnamurchan Livingstones

Post by Cameron Livingstone »

Hi Guys

I’m a newbie who joined last week but have been researching my highland Livingstones for sometime. I’m also from a family that has historically believed we are related to David Livingstone ! Although I think this is probably true for most of your members. My story is a fairly long one but I’d be really keen to know if you can help me as I am currently hitting the proverbial brick wall.

My name is Malcolm Cameron Newing. My paternal grandmother was a Sarah Cameron Livingstone. She was born in 1866 in Brig O’Turk, at age 16 she moved to Portsmouth where she met a Royal marine called John Newing . She wed and thereafter ,according to my elder brother, never returned to Scotland but would cry about it every New Years Eve. I was 5 when she died but her impact on my immediate family was such that I really thought I was Scottish until my late teens and always supported them (following my dad) whenever they played England at Football or Rugby!! All her grandchildren have the Cameron name as do all her great grand children. My initial research therefore started out trying to follow our Cameron Ancestry. I was too young to remember but my siblings say nan was adamant that David Livingstone was a relative but unfortunately none of them followed this up with her before she died in 1960.

My nans father was an Allan Livingstone born I believe in Kilchoan, Ardnumurchan. I have him captured in the 1841 census in Orsaigmore and have captured him in every census up to his death in 1904.