[Clan Crest]

Clan MacLea - Livingstone

The Official Home of the Clan McLea (The ancient historical name of the Livingstones)

The Lion Rampant


Lismore Cathedral

Lismore Cathedral was the See of the Roman Catholic Bishops of Argyll and the Isles.

See of Lismore

Kilmoluag - The Cathedral Church of St Moluag

In 1200 John the Scot, Bishop of Dunkeld, sent his chaplain, Harold, to Pope Innocent the III to persuade the Pope to disjoin Argyll from Dunkeld maintaining that the revenues of Argyle were adequate to support it as a separate Episcopal seat. The Pope agreed and Harold was appointed first Bishop of Argyll with his seat at Muckairn on Loch Etive.

In 1236 the See moved to the safer location of Lismore and henceforth was called See of Lismore. Despite Bishop John’s assurances the See of Lismore was always very poor.


Cathedral Chapter

The constitution of the cathedral was :

  • Dean.
  • Precentor.
  • Chancellor.
  • Treasurer.
  • Arch deacon.
  • Prebendaries.


There were four Deaneries attached to the See.

  1. Kintyre inc Knapdale.
  2. Glassary, (or Glasrod) inc all the parishes in Mid-Argyle, along with the collegiate church of Kilmun on the Holy Loch, founded in 1442 for a provost and seven prebendaries.
  3. Lorn with all its parishes.
  4. Morvern with its parishes of Eilean Finan, Arasaig, Glenelg, Kilmallie, Kilmalen(?), Kilcolmkill, Killintag, Ardnamurchan, and Knoydart.

In 1289 Pope Nicholas IV wrote to Laurence, Bishop of Lismore, saying that Iona Abbey is immediately under Rome and outwith the See of Lismore.

Last updated 20 April, 2013